Best Chromebooks for Students (2026): Three Plus Models Worth Buying
The Lenovo Chromebook Plus 14, Acer Chromebook Plus 514 and HP Chromebook Plus 15.6 compared on price, battery life and screen, so you can pick one for school.
By the SpecVerdict editors · Published
Quick verdict
Buy the Lenovo Chromebook Plus 14 ($649 and up) if you can stretch to it: reviewers rate its OLED screen and battery life the best of the three. The Acer Chromebook Plus 514 ($399) is the value pick, and the HP Chromebook Plus 15.6 suits students who want a big screen.
Most students don’t need a $1,500 laptop. They need something light, fast enough for a dozen browser tabs and a video call, and able to get through a day of classes without a charger. That’s what a good Chromebook does.
We compared three Chromebook Plus models using reviews from TechRadar, Tom’s Guide and PCWorld. They run from $399 to $649 at launch, and the right one depends on how far your budget stretches. We haven’t handled any of them ourselves; everything here comes from those reviews and the manufacturers’ published details.
The short list
| Lenovo Chromebook Plus 14 | Acer Chromebook Plus 514 | HP Chromebook Plus 15.6 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best for | Best overall | Best value | Big screen |
| Launch price (US) | From $649 | From $399 | $549.99 |
| Screen | 14” OLED | 14” IPS | 15.6” IPS |
| Weight | 2.58 lb | 3.15 lb | 3.81 lb |
| Tested battery | 13h 19m (Tom’s Guide) | About 8.5h (TechRadar) | 10h 41m (TechRadar) |
These are launch prices. Chromebooks are often discounted, so check current offers before you decide.
Lenovo Chromebook Plus 14: the best all-rounder
Tom’s Guide calls it “the best Chromebook you can buy right now,” and PCWorld gave it an Editors’ Choice badge. Both single out the OLED screen and the battery. It uses a MediaTek Kompanio Ultra 910 chip, which means no fan and no noise.
Tom’s Guide measured 13 hours 19 minutes on its battery test. PCWorld got 19 hours on the CrXPRT 2 benchmark with the brightness turned down. Lenovo claims 17. Your result will land somewhere in that range, depending on how you use it.
It’s also the lightest of the three, at 2.58 pounds for the non-touch model, and has two USB-C ports and a USB-A port.
Keep in mind: $649 is a lot for a Chromebook. Tom’s Guide notes that Chromebook Plus laptops have mostly sat between $350 and $500. PCWorld found the function keys tiny. Storage is soldered UFS, so you’ll lean on cloud storage.
Acer Chromebook Plus 514: the value pick
At $399, this is the cheapest of the three by a wide margin. TechRadar tested a version with an Intel Core 3 100U, 8GB of RAM and 128GB of storage and found it quick: apps launch and switch fast, and it copes with plenty of browser tabs. The 14-inch 1920 x 1200 screen is sharp, and the 16:10 shape gives you more room for documents.
Keep in mind: Battery life is the weak spot. TechRadar’s video-loop test lasted about eight and a half hours, which is average for a Chromebook but short of the Lenovo. The fans get noisy under load. Acer has sold several versions of the 514 over the past few years, with different chips, so confirm the exact specs of the one you’re buying.
HP Chromebook Plus 15.6-inch: for a bigger screen
If you spend your day in spreadsheets or split-screen windows, a 15.6-inch screen helps. TechRadar’s reviewer found it smooth and fast, called the build premium, and measured 10 hours 41 minutes of battery life. That falls short of HP’s own 13-hour claim but is still near the top of the Chromebooks TechRadar has tested. Both USB-C ports charge the laptop, and there’s a microSD slot.
Keep in mind: The number pad squeezes the keyboard, and TechRadar’s reviewer found typing a little cramped. At 3.81 pounds it’s the heaviest here, and it isn’t a convertible. The $549.99 list price is steep, but TechRadar says it has often sold for much less.
Side by side
| Lenovo Plus 14 | Acer Plus 514 | HP Plus 15.6 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chip | MediaTek Kompanio Ultra 910 | Intel Core 3 100U (tested) | Intel Core i3-N305 (tested) |
| RAM | 12GB or 16GB | 8GB | 8GB |
| Storage | UFS, up to 256GB | 128GB (tested) | 128GB |
| Resolution | 1920x1200 OLED | 1920x1200 IPS | 1920x1080 IPS, 144Hz |
| Touchscreen | Optional | Not stated in our sources | No |
| Cooling | Fanless | Fan, noisy under load | Not stated in our sources |
| Weight | 2.58 lb | 3.15 lb | 3.81 lb |
How to choose
- Pick the Lenovo if you want the best screen and the longest battery life and can afford it. It suits long days on campus.
- Pick the Acer if you’re watching your budget and mostly sit near a power outlet.
- Pick the HP if you rarely carry your laptop and want a roomy display.
Before you buy any Chromebook, look up its Auto Update Expiration date on Google’s support site. That’s the date security updates stop. Two models with similar names can have different dates, so check the exact one. Also confirm that your school doesn’t require software that only runs on Windows or macOS.
How we chose
We picked three Chromebook Plus models that major outlets reviewed well and that are sold in many markets, then compared their launch prices, battery tests and reviewer complaints. Prices vary by country and retailer, so check your local store. We didn’t run our own tests.
Our picks at a glance
Lenovo Chromebook Plus 14
Lenovo · from $649 launch price, check current offers
What's good
- Sharp 14-inch OLED screen
- Battery life reviewers call excellent: 13 hours 19 minutes in Tom's Guide's test
- Fanless, light and well built
- 16GB of RAM on the touchscreen model; 12GB on the base model
Keep in mind
- $649 is high for a Chromebook
- Tiny function keys, according to PCWorld
- Storage can't be expanded
Key specs
- Price (US launch)
- From $649; $749 for touchscreen, 16GB, 256GB
- Chip
- MediaTek Kompanio Ultra 910
- RAM
- 12GB (base) or 16GB
- Storage
- UFS, up to 256GB
- Display
- 14-inch 1920x1200 OLED
- Touchscreen
- Optional
- Battery
- 17 hours (Lenovo claim)
- Ports
- 2x USB-C, 1x USB-A, 3.5mm audio
- Weight
- 2.58 lb (non-touch), 2.78 lb (touch)
Acer Chromebook Plus 514
Acer · from $399 launch price, check current offers
What's good
- Starts at $399
- Sharp 16:10 display
- Fast enough for many browser tabs, according to TechRadar
- Light for a 14-inch laptop
Keep in mind
- Battery life of about 8.5 hours in TechRadar's test
- Fans get noisy under load
- Several versions share the name, so check the exact specs
Key specs
- Price (US launch)
- From $399
- Chip
- Intel Core 3 100U (tested model)
- RAM
- 8GB
- Storage
- 128GB (tested model)
- Display
- 14-inch 1920x1200 IPS
- Battery
- About 8.5 hours (TechRadar test)
- Weight
- 3.15 lb
HP Chromebook Plus 15.6-inch
HP · from $550 launch price, check current offers
What's good
- Large 15.6-inch Full HD screen with a 144Hz option
- Almost 11 hours in TechRadar's test
- Two USB-C ports that charge, plus USB-A and a microSD slot
- Often sold for far less than the list price, TechRadar says
Keep in mind
- Cramped keyboard because of the number pad
- 3.81 lb is heavy to carry all day
- Not a 2-in-1
Key specs
- Price (US launch)
- $549.99
- Chip
- Intel Core i3-N305 (tested model)
- RAM
- 8GB
- Storage
- 128GB
- Display
- 15.6-inch 1920x1080, 144Hz, non-touch
- Battery
- 10 hours 41 minutes (TechRadar test)
- Ports
- 2x USB-C, USB-A, microSD, 3.5mm audio
- Weight
- 3.81 lb
Frequently asked questions
Is a Chromebook good enough for college?
For most coursework, yes. Web apps, documents, video calls, streaming and note-taking all work well. It's a poor fit if your course needs Windows or Mac-only software, so check your department's requirements first.
What does Chromebook Plus mean?
It's Google's label for Chromebooks that meet a higher hardware bar than basic models. All three laptops here carry it. Check the label and the exact specs on the model you're buying.
How long will a Chromebook get updates?
It depends on the model. Google publishes an Auto Update Expiration date for each Chromebook, and you should look yours up before you buy. A later date means more years of security updates.
Which of these has the best battery life?
The Lenovo Chromebook Plus 14. Tom's Guide measured 13 hours 19 minutes, and PCWorld recorded 19 hours in a lighter-brightness benchmark. TechRadar measured just under 11 hours for the HP and about 8.5 hours for the Acer.
Do I need the touchscreen version?
Not for most students. It helps if you want to annotate with a stylus or use tent mode. On the Lenovo it adds $100 to the starting price in the US and comes with the larger RAM and storage setup.
Our verdicts are based on published specifications, independent reviews and owner feedback. We have not physically tested these products unless stated.